Rájec renaissance castle - 12,5 km
In 1570, the Renaissance castle "Rájec nad Svitavou" was built on the site of the former upper fortress. But it burned down in the 17th century and was then completely demolished. In essence, Rájec Castle acquired its current form in 1763-69, when Count "Antonín Karel!" of Salm had it rebuilt.
At the beginning of the 19th century, the "Rájec castle" and the estate were inherited by the prominent Czech scientist and collector "Hugo František" from Salm, who used the rich experience gained during his travels in Europe to manage his estate.
Today, the state castle "Rájec nad Svitavou" is a National Cultural Monument.
Currently, the following are accessible at the castle:
representative ground floor with one of the largest castle libraries in Moravia.
first floor with private apartments from the second half of the 19th century.
The castle horticulture has specialized in growing camellias since 1973, in the same year a rare collection of camellias from "Průhonice" near Prague was brought there, numbering today four hundred varieties, some of which were bred by "Jan Dvořák" and "Evžen Kopecký", the castle gardeners in Paradise. Today, the paradise camellias are in the care of the castle gardener Bc. "Ondřej Henk".